Page 1 of 1

Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2024 11:10 pm
by amsire2

Hi

Can anyone help me in this situation.

I have a table call Diagnose and this table consist of following fields
a. DiagnoseID
b. DiagnoseCategory
c. PresentingComplaint
d. Examination
e. BloodPressure

all the fields from c to d is visible false in add action.

If i select the DiagnoseCategory = General then I want PresentingComplaint, Examination, and BloodPressureto be visible true.

How can I do that?


Re: Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2024 9:11 am
by arbei

You may use Client Side Events.


Re: Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2024 11:55 am
by amsire2

Can you show me the code?

My code is like this but nothing happen

if ($this->Diagnose_Category->CurrentValue == "General") {
$this->Presenting_Complaint->Visible = true;

}

Re: Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2024 3:05 pm
by arbei

Client side events is JavaScript, you should read the link above and follow the examples and try. You may post your code for discussion.


Re: Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2024 3:40 pm
by amsire2
{ // keys = event types, values = handler functions
    "change": function(e) {
        if (this.value == "GP: General Template") {
    
            $(this).fields("Presenting_Complaint").visible(true); 
            
        } else {
            $(this).fields("Presenting_Complaint").visible(false); 
        }
    }
}

I do this code in Client Script - Edit Page but still did not work.


Re: Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2024 8:48 pm
by arbei

You use this.value, it only works for text box. What is the Edit Tag of the field? If not TEXT, you better use $(this).value(). Also use console.log($(this).value()); to check the value in your F12 -> Console panel in browser.


Re: Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:31 am
by arbei

You may learn to debug your code in your browser, see Debug JavaScript.


Re: Show field based on select value in select box

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 2:06 am
by DGarza

Simple, you can use Jquery to do that, you need to inspect the browser page to see somes ID's from your select and inputs

Go to Server Event from you page and go to Client Script->Table-Specific->Add/Copy Page->Startup Script

$('#r_PresentingComplaint').hide();
$('#r_Examination').hide();
$('#r_BloodPressure').hide();

if($('#SelectID').val() == 1){ //1 example
 $('#r_PresentingComplaint').show();
 $('#r_Examination').show();
 $('#r_BloodPressure').show();
}