Master/Detail export - Add table names

This public forum is for user-to-user discussions of PHPMaker. Note that this is not support forum.
philmills
User

Master/Detail export - Add table names

Post by philmills »

I have a master table with 5 or so detail tables.
From master/detail view, when I export as PDF, the master record along with its detail tables are displayed correctly but the detail tables are missing table names.
How can I get the table names to be included?

arbei
User

Post by arbei »

Export does not export table name, you may customize the ExportPdf class and override the exportHeaderAndFooter() method.

philmills
User

Post by philmills »

exportHeaderAndFooter() contains this:

$header = "<html><head>\r\n";
        $header .= $this->charsetMetaTag();
        $header .= self::styleTag();
        $header .= "</" . "head>\r\n<body>\r\n";
        $this->Text = $header . $this->Text . "</body></html>";

I need to get the name of the detail table to appear above each detail table. This doesn't seem like the correct function to modify for that.

philmills
User

Post by philmills »

Figured it out:

public function exportTableHeader()
    {
	$this->Text .= "<h2 style='font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif*; padding-top: 10px;'>" . $this->Table->tableCaption() . "</h2>"; // Add table caption
        $this->Text .= "<table class=\"ew-table\">\r\n";

}

working

philmills
User

Post by philmills »

I have a View page with detail records.
When I export to pdf there are page breaks after every detail table, but some detail tables only have a couple of records, which makes for a whole lot of whitespace and scrolling.
So that's not suitable. I need a page break only when absolutely necessary.

I notice that in the dompdf extension you can now define the number of records before a page break should occur. The problem is that my records contain quite long text fields so breaking after X number of records just isn't viable either.