Auto Update Database When ViewValue Change in List Page

This public forum is for user-to-user discussions of PHPMaker. Note that this is not support forum.
JBourne
User

Auto Update Database When ViewValue Change in List Page

Post by JBourne »

Hello. I'm new in PHPMaker so I will consult to the masters if how to update database when my ViewValue in List Page Change or update?
Where Event should I put my script?

Thanks a lot.

danielc
User

Post by danielc »

1. Does your currentvalue change? Are ViewValue changed by server event or through what?
  2. What data you want to change in your database?

Please describe in detail what you want to do.

JBourne
User

Post by JBourne »

I have this code and I put it in Row_Rendered server event and it works, it triggers when the current date change and the result displays on hdAge Field View Value.
But in this case I want also to update mysql database once the view value of the hdAge Field change.

// Row Rendered event
function Row_Rendered() {
// To view properties of field class, use:
//var_dump($this-><FieldName>);

$d1 = date ('m/d/Y H:i:s');
$d2 = $this->DateReported->CurrentValue;
$now = strtotime($d1);                   
$your_date = strtotime ($d2);
$status = $this->TicketStateID->CurrentValue;

if ($status == '3') {

} else {     
           $datediff = $now - $your_date;
           $d3 = floor($datediff/3600);

if ($d3 <= "0") { 
                       $this->hdAge->ViewValue = "0"; 
                      } else {
                       $this->hdAge->ViewValue = $d3;                     
                      }

}

Webmaster
User

Post by Webmaster »

1. You'd better use a database view so you don't need to calculate yourself,
  2. If you prefer doing it yourself, you can execute an UPDATE statement after your code, e.g.

ew_Exceute("UPDATE YourTable SET YourField = xxx WHERE YourPrimaryKeyField = " . $this->YourPrimaryKeyField->CurrentValue); // Assume your primary key field is number here so no need to quote