Page 1 of 1

Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:26 am
by starquest321

After I conduct a search - the filter stays until I do "show all"
What event do I have to use to do the following:

After do the search .... display the results ....but the next search will not be within the context of what was searched? Meaning:

Search ----> then clear the filter for future searches?


Re: Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:26 am
by mobhar

Assume you are using the Advanced Search. Find this code in your generated *srch.php file:

	// Restore search settings from Session
	if ($gsSearchError == "")
		$this->LoadAdvancedSearch();

then simply remove it, and try again.


Re: Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:42 am
by starquest321

Excellent but I am using normal search. Can I update template in phpnaker?


Re: Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:14 pm
by mobhar

Either customizing "list-script.php" template file, or customizing the generated *list.php file, then simply remove this code:

$this->RestoreSearchParms();

and

$this->setSearchWhere($this->SearchWhere); // Save to Session


Re: Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:40 pm
by starquest321

I want them to make some more advanced:

In search add a button called: "retain search"
If clicked ---> then keep the search parameter values

If not checked go ahead and clear them after displaying the results.

How to add button next to search option. . .


Re: Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:50 pm
by mobhar

Just try it by yourself first, and post your code for discussion.


Re: Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 12:48 pm
by starquest321

I noticed that there are events for searches. Can I use those instead of customizing the template?


Re: Reset Search Criteria

Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:39 am
by danielc

You can use jQuery .val(value) to clear the search value for text box input. See api.jquery.com/val/.